Main menu


featured image

The complete Stargate viewing order encompasses films, TV shows, and even a web-series. Tea Stargate franchise launched in 1994, and it went on to become one of the most successful science fiction TV franchises of all times. It only came to an end in 2011, with the cancellation of spinoff series Stargate: Universeby which time it consisted of three movies and no less than 17 seasons on TV.

Unfortunately, it’s actually rather difficult to watch the Stargate franchise in strict timeline order. This is largely because there’s an overlap between the TV shows Stargate: SG1 and Stargate Atlantis. There were thankfully few crossovers – the two shows are actually set in different galaxies – but their concurrent arcs have caused confusion for some viewers. Here’s a complete timeline and viewing order for the Stargate franchise.


Related: Why Michael Shanks Left Stargate SG-1 & Returned 1 Year Later

Stargate Origins Web TV Series

In 2018, MGM launched a digital platform dedicated solely to Stargate – appropriately called Stargate Command. Its launch was accompanied by the release of a weekly 10-episode prequel series, Stargate Origins, which explores the backstory of Dr. Catherine Langford, whose father discovered the Stargate. It’s hardly essential viewing, but completionists will want to watch it first, given the events described in the series are set in the late 1920s.

The 1994 Stargate Movie

Continuing in chronological viewing order, then, next is Stargate – the 1994 film that launched the franchise. Directed and co-written by Roland Emmerich, the plot centers on the discovery of an ancient Stargate that can be used to travel between the stars. The first expedition through the Stargate reveals that humanity is not alone – and that there are terrifying threats in the wider galaxy, notably the sinister Goa’uld.

Stargate: SG-1 Seasons 1-7

It didn’t take long for Stargate to transform into a transmedia franchise, with the launch of the Stargate: SG-1 TV-series. Stargate: SG-1 ran for ten seasons, centering on an elite team of adventurers tasked with waging war against the Goa’uld and building relations with other races who could help humanity survive in a hostile galaxy. Viewers can watch the first seven seasons back-to-back, but Stargate SG-1 season 7’s dramatic conclusion sets up another spinoff – Stargate Atlantis.

Stargate: SG-1 Season 8 & Stargate Atlantis Season 1

Stargate: SG-1 and Stargate Atlantis ran side-by-side, meaning the viewing order becomes rather more complicated at this point. The best viewing order would be:

  • Stargate: SG-1 season 8, episodes 1 and 2 – explicitly set before the Atlantis mission to the Pegasus galaxy, and setting up its launch.
  • Stargate Atlantis season 1, episodes 1 and 2 – in which the Atlantis mission kicks off, with the crew encountering humans in the Pegasus galaxy, notably Jason Momoa’s Stargate role, Ronon.
  • At this point, many viewers try to overcomplicate things. There are really two approaches, and – aside from an occasional minor detail – either works. Viewers can either choose to alternate episodes, or they can simply watch the rest of Stargate: SG-1 season 8 before watching Stargate Atlantis. It is, however, important to do it that way round; the final two-parter of Stargate: SG-1 season 8 sets up the end of Stargate Atlantis season 1.

Related: Stargate SG-1: Why Richard Dean Anderson Left The Hit Show

Stargate: SG-1 Season 9 & Stargate Atlantis Season 2

There’s no explicit crossover in Stargate: SG-1 season 9 gold Stargate Atlantis season 2, making viewing much easier. It’s probably best to start with Stargate Atlantis season 2, though, because the first few episodes follow on logically from Earth’s development of intergalactic travel – technology humanity has developed thanks to the help of alien Asgard such as Michael Shanks’s Thor. Both Stargate: SG-1 season 9 and Stargate Atlantis season 2 end on cliffhangers.

Stargate: SG-1 Season 10 & Stargate Atlantis Season 3

There’s increasing contact between Earth and the Atlantis base in Stargate: SG-1 season 10 and Stargate Atlantis season 3, meaning the viewing order does become a little more complicated. The best approach would be:

  • Stargate: SG-1 season 10, episode 1
  • Stargate Atlantis season 3, episode 1
  • Stargate: SG-1 season 10, episode 2
  • Stargate: Atlantis season 3, episode 2
  • Stargate: SG-1 season 10, episode 3 (a crossover episode, in which SG-1 travel to Atlantis), followed by episodes 4-8
  • Stargate Atlantis season 3, episodes 3-20 (a block including a two-part story in which the Atlantis expedition returns to Earth)
  • The rest of Stargate: SG-1 season 10

Stargate Is Much Easier To Navigate After Stargate SG-1 Season 10

There are only 10 seasons of Stargate: SG-1, but the story continued in a series of made-for-TV movies. It is, however, much easier to navigate from this point:

  • Stargate: The Ark of Truth tv-movie
  • Stargate Atlantis season 4
  • Stargate: Continuum tv-movie
  • Stargate Atlantis season 5

Tea Stargate: Universe series continues on after Stargate Atlantis season 5, although again it’s largely stand-alone, and it has a very different tone and style. Stargate: Universe was sadly canceled after season 2, and its story continues in comic book form; these comics are of dubious canonicality, however, so shouldn’t be considered essential in terms of following the overarching Stargate narrative.

Next: Every Roland Emmerich Movie Ranked Worst To Best (Including Moonfall)